Finding Faith in College

Sometimes, finding faith in college can come in unexpected ways.

I grew up in a Christian home and so, religion was always a part of my life. However, I never expected it to be something that would mean much more to me as soon as I dove into the life of a college student. I found myself always seeking to find answers for things that I cannot explain.

When I went to church back home, I always volunteered for Youth Group. I’ve led praise team through singing and I’ve always wondered, would I have became a Christian if it weren’t for my parents who gave me that opportunity when I was a child?

Faith is a subjective thing once you think about it. You don’t have to believe in the same things in order to believe in something that isn’t exactly the easiest thing to talk about. More often than not, some students actually end up not following a certain faith when they’re in college.

http://thepost.ohiou.edu/content/finding-faith At Ohio University, many students are trying to figure out who they are and what their quips about faith is. Because of this, many are finding the need to express themselves through religion or even debate what the idea of religion is to them personally.

According to an article from USA Today, it appears that students are divided when it comes to whatever particular level of activeness they choose to take regarding religious practices. http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/09/26/college-students-god-religion/2875627/

One such student is Jayme Pollock, an Ohio University student who found God through finding fellowship through student organizations on campus, such as Kappa Phi, a sisterhood service organization. Her walk in faith was at question when she first entered college and had to make the decision to keep up with practicing Christianity on her own.

“I thought I had my own faith until I got to school and realized a lot of my views came from my parents and peers at home,” Pollock said. “It was a great decision and rejuvenated my walk with Christ,” she said. “He showed me I could find good fellowship even in college and reaffirmed my faith. I think it’s important to find your own faith or lack thereof in college.”

 

Syndey Reck, is an Ohio University student who found her faith in college.  She now leads YoungLife, a student organization. Photo | Hannah Yang

Syndey Reck, is an Ohio University student who found her faith in college. She now leads YoungLife, a student organization. Photo | Hannah Yang

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

